Liebster Award

liebster-award1

I’m delighted to say that A Small Aubergine has been nominated for a Liebster Award by Shannon of Beauty and the Mess.  The aim of the Liebster Award, from what I can find out via Google and tracking the nominees, is a way for people to discover new blogs- you get nominated if you have less than 200 followers.  Since this blog is only 3 weeks old I’m just excited that someone found what I’ve been writing fun and enjoyable enough to want others to come pay me a visit. It’s really flattering, and made my day when I saw the news. Shannon made a great post explaining a bit more about Liebster, which I recommend you go read if you’re curious.

What are the Rules?

Link back to the person who nominated you and answer the 11 questions they’ve given you to answer. You must pick 11 nominees with under 200 (or 2,000) followers to answer your 11 questions. Do not nominate the person who nominated you, and let the people you nominate know they have been nominated.

I nominate:

  1. Jenni Talula
  2.  Banal Muffins
  3. Knitting Pretty
  4. Lara Smoot Designs
  5.  Reflections
  6. Infectious Stitches
  7. Isa Threads of Life
  8. Christen Mattix
  9. Yarncaster
  10. Anemone
  11. The Girl on Fibre

Yes, there ARE a lot of knitting blogs on that list. No, I don’t see that as a problem.

11 questions for my nominees:

  1. What are three places you’d like to visit? Why?
  2. If you were stuck on a desert island, would you rather have one person with you and no internet, or be alone but with an internet connection?
  3. What’s the best gift you ever received?
  4. What’s your wildest ambition for yourself?
  5. Who would be the six guests at your fantasy dinner party, if you could invite anyone?
  6. What was your worst subject at school- have your feelings about it changed?
  7. How would you like others to describe you when they talk about you?
  8. What do you want to be remembered for?
  9. Books, movies, or TV?
  10. What’s one thing you’re scared to try but really want to?
  11. Tell us a joke!

(By the way, even if I didn’t nominate you, I’d love to know your answers to any of these questions that take your fancy- let me know in the comments).

And finally, the questions from Beauty and the Mess:

What’s your favorite animal? If I have to pick a real one, I’d say the Tibetan Giant Mastiff dog. Blame the Dresden Files books- Mouse, the main character’s dog, is one of my favourite characters. If we can go mythical, then the unicorn. Because going on the amount of glitter I seem to shed, well, everywhere I go, I pretty much am one.

What’s something on your bucket list? I really want to go to Macchu Picchu. A lot of my bucket list is travel to different places, and this is probably the highest on it- I’d love to do the trek properly. I know you can go up there on a train, but I’d just love to have that moment of reaching the end of the trail and being rewarded with those amazing views. The big dream would be to travel the world with the Best Beloved, his list is as long as mine (which is one of the many ways I know we make a great team).

Read any good books this past year? It would have to be the aforementioned Dresden Files- the latest in the series, ‘Skin Game’ came out last week and I devoured it immediately. I highly recommend the series as a whole- Harry, the main character, learns and develops a lot, especially in terms of how he treats women. It features Michael Carpenter, still one of the best-written Christian characters I’ve ever encountered, and a whole lot of badass women. Plus some truly epic crowning moments of awesome. Jim Butcher’s really come on as a writer since the first book (I think he hit his stride around Book 4- Summer Knight), and now the new instalments are very, very hard to put down.

I also really enjoyed SARK’s ‘Change your Life Without Getting out of Bed: The Ultimate Nap Book’- short but very sweet- and I’m working my way through some other books of hers.

If you had a million dollars, what are a few things you would do with it? The first thing would be to build a tiny house somewhere near the sea, in Auckland. The second thing would be to take the Best Beloved off on that round the world trip. The rest would be to live on in a modest way so that I could quit working for a paycheck and start working for myself and my community- I’d love to be able to do a bunch of volunteering and do things that make peoples’ lives richer, better, easier, and just generally spread love. That’s what I envision for the Craft Gym when it starts- I want to share my love of craft and give others the opportunity to have fun making things, and realise that they have the capacity to be creative and put that creativity into practice. Living simply and more minimally while running the Craft Gym would also allow me to use it to help the community, because I wouldn’t have to do everything with an eye to profit. For example, I definitely plan on doing some school-holiday clubs, but it would be great to be able to offer a heavily discounted rate for kids in low-decile schools or whose parents are jobseeking.

What’s your favorite T.V. show? Supernatural. But no spoilers, because I’m not caught up- after something that happened in season 9 my flatmate refused to watch any more.

What’s something you’re afraid of? Snakes. No idea where the fear came from (it could be a time when I was about 4 when my brother and I found a large adder asleep on the swingset at the holiday house we were staying in, and my brother swatted it off the swing with a frisbee…) but they freak me the hell out. I am so happy to be living in a country with NO snakes.

If you could see anyone in concert, who would it be? Either Ben Folds or Dave Dobbyn (like I said the other day, I’m having a Kiwi music moment).

What’s your favorite book? ‘Neverwhere’ by Neil Gaiman. I read it first when I was 17, and I think the stuff you read at that age stays with you. It made me excited about London, it was rich and frightening and weird. I have a first edition of it, signed by Neil, which remains one of my most treasured books (and that’s saying something).

If you could go bowling with any fictional character, who would it be? Sophie Hatter from Diana Wynne Jones’ ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ series. Or possibly Querida from the Derkholm books, also by Diana Wynne Jones.

Why did you start a blog? I wanted to create something to start sharing my love of craft and the weirdness and eclectic passions that make me me, to connect with others who are into what I’m into. Eventually it will also be a way for me to share news about the Craft Gym, once I’m in Auckland. Mainly it’s so I can share things I love, in the hopes that other people who love them will have fun reading, and that people who didn’t know they’d love them will discover that they do.

What’s your favorite season? When I lived in the UK it was spring. I loved the bursting into bloom, seeing flowers all over everywhere. And it was my birthday season, so the flowers felt like a special gift. Now I’m in New Zealand, to my surprise I’d say summer is my favourite. Over here there’s a lot more outdoors, and people seem much keener to be outside and enjoying the weather. Ice cream on the beach (at Christmas!), picnics in the park, and adventures and exploring- things that don’t happen so much in England because you never know when it’s going to start raining.

So there you go! Normal Monsterful Monday will follow in a bit.

3 responses to “Liebster Award

  1. Hi there! Thanks for the nomination 🙂 So do I answer your questions here in the reply line, or somewhere else? I’m new to this…

    • Hi!
      Well, according to the Liebster rules you answer the questions in a post on your blog, nominate some other blogs you like with less than 200 followers, and put some questions up for them. (But if you just want to answer them in the comments here, I won’t tell ;))

  2. Hello mannersmagpie and thank you for the nomination. I am not sure I will be able to participate but I really appreciate your award. Good luck with your blog !

Leave a Reply

