Friday Five- Five favourite quotes

So I’ll admit, I’m new to Instagram. But I adore it. There’s something about photos- it’s much harder to post a negative photo, than it is to write a negative Tweet or Facebook status. Maybe that’s just me. It just feels like a happier place, does Instagram. Maybe it’s the colours, people posting pictures of themselves doing fun things, or tasty food, or fun quotes, or street art, or cool stuff they see.

Also I am unreasonably fond of futzing around with the different filters picking just the right one for each photo. One day I will master Photoshop and then you’ll all be sorry. Or you’ll just enjoy the pretty photos. ANYWAY…

I’m doing #radicalselflovejuly on Instagram at the moment, and day 16 was favourite quotes. If you’re following me on Instagram (please do! I’ll follow you right back- @mannersmagpie, come say hello) by the way- then you may already have seen that I can’t choose just one quote. Just like I couldn’t choose just one favourite book. One? ONE? How am I supposed to narrow it down? There are so many quotes I love for so many different reasons.  Here are five of them.

Your journey has molded you for your greater good, and it was exactly what it needed to be. Don’t think that you’ve lost time. It took each and every situation you have encountered to bring you to the now. And now is the right time.- Asha Tyson

There are many people out there who will tell you “you can’t”. What you’ve got to do is say “watch me.”- Jack White

Forgiveness is an act of creation…how does one know if she has forgiven? You tend to feel sorrow over the circumstances instead of rage, you tend to feel sorry for the person rather than angry with him. You tend to have nothing left to remember to say about it all. You understand the suffering that drove the offence to begin with. You prefer to remain outside the milieu. You are not waiting on anything. You are not wanting anything. There is no lariat snare around your ankle stretching from way back there to here. You are free to go. It may not have turned out to be a ‘happily ever after’ but most certainly there is now a fresh ‘once upon a time’ waiting for you from this day forward– Clarissa Pinkola Estes, from ‘Women who Run with the Wolves’

100 years ago, buying something you could make was considered wasteful; now making something you could buy is considered wasteful. I am not convinced this is a step in the right direction. ― Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, from ‘All Wound Up: The Yarn Harlot Writes for a Spin’

And finally, a quote from one of my idols:

Moi strongly believes in self-help. Wherever I am, I help myself to whatever I can– Miss Piggy

Feel free to share your favourite quotes in the comments, I’d love to read them, and why you love them. And have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

